Black forest vs. Bureaucracy

I had the most amazing forêt noire or the Black Forest cake over the weekend. Christina, my german pal who recommended it at a café at Selestat offered to share it with me, at my insistence. I love a good dessert but I am not a sweet-o-holic so I wasnt sure if I’d finish it.

I am still so sorry for having shared it.

It was different from the ones I have had back home, and I am told it was almost close to the original german cake (from where it has its origins).

Just as I was coming out of the cake hangover, I got to know that my bank account had not been opened as yet. The lady at La Poste had not even called me and after 10 days, I went to find out why I had not received the RIB (an essential document here) and other bank details. Apparently they wanted a more recent date of my work contract (which happens to be the same date for all other assistants who have got their account opened). To cut a long story short, I am not going to receive my salary for October until the end of November. That comes as a bummer especially when I was trying my best to avoid  ‘french bureaucracy’ and submit all my documents on time. I cant do much about it now, so the alternative is to be happy that I will receive a lumpsum for both months at the end of November. December should be quite a blast!

I shouldnt generalise, but if you ever come across this sign, you know you should be wary!!

Categories: France, French chapter, Strasbourg, Travelogue | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

