The Doors, limited edition!

YellowI loved sketching and more specifically, architecture during my teen years and at some point my uncle, an architect, persuaded me to take it up as a career option. Life had other plans and so flew by, the years. A bit of travel here and IMG_2222there within India brought the camera out and photos of quaint constructions, temples, and other such structures were taken. My interest in buildings ended there.

And then came along Europe where all of a sudden the atmosphere was so different from that back home and the architecture – an integral part of European history – very much preserved and oh-so-beautiful. When you are suddenly part of another culture, there is so much excitement and so much to Redsoak in that sometimes, you miss seeing the obvious.

The obvious here, being doors – such an essential component of every home. As I walked back from school one evening exploringFloral a different route, I saw this closed boulangerie (bakery) with what I thought was a very interesting looking door.  The Japanese part of me (that plays a very dominant role in my travels) immediately got the good ol’ Canon out of my bag and a couple of photos were quickly taken before I continued to stand and admire it a little longer. 

After that, everywhere I went, my mind got attuned to paying extra attention to doors. Evidently, European homes try and blend quaint with colour and some of these doors are testimony to that.

Sagrada Familia

And while we are on Europe and architecture, how can I miss mentioning Sagrada Familia, Barcelona and Gaudi’s famed structure that draws thousands of tourists each day. But to be honest, I didn’t fancy it that much – possibly having not spent as much time inside as I should have (I absolutely loved the other quirky works of Gaudi, though).  Gaudi’s life is a fascinating one and we got a brief introduction to it through our hostel tour guide. Nevertheless, back to the subject – any guesses what I loved most about the church? Yeah of course, the door.

Two massive heavy-looking entrances made of stone and metal. Dark and covered with a sculpted jumble of words adorning the outer panels. Apparently, the words are taken from the Bible representing various languages including Catalan with some highlighted in gold, notably Jesus in the centre. Divine, indeed.

Now living in a ‘concrete desert‘, door-observation has taken a break as there’s not much variety to the hotel suite-like doors here. And funnily, as I bring this post to an end I suddenly realise how I’ve rarely come across an open door. Yes, all doors that I passed by were invariably closed, what a contrast to Indian homes! Something to do with the cold weather, or perhaps it’s in the culture? What do you think?

And on that note, please do take a look at the little colourful album I put together here for more proof on closed doors! (Ps: I’m still figuring out Pinterest).

Cocktail

Categories: French chapter, Travelogue | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Doors, limited edition!

  1. R.Sunder

    Hi Itpid, Your writing has flair and style. Keep it up. I liked the post. Probably, what the field of architecture missed, the art of writing has gained!! You can even use your observations from Europe on various aspects – homes, bed-and-board, beaches, flower-boxes and so on, as themes and create a series of blogs or even articles. The latter will be accepted by magazines like Femina or Good Housekeeping. I hope they will have open doors for what you contribute.
    Love, Sunder Unc.

    • Chandra Athai

      Hey, Hey Dipti, That’s a lovely write-up and the photographs of the Doors are wonderful. You should really keep up the good work. I am proud of you. Just discovering the treasure of talent you have!!
      Love, Chandra Athai.

  2. Jaya Vaidyanathan

    wow…keep it up dips…..both the write up and the photographs were superb….dad too liked it very much.

  3. Thanks, lovely people 🙂

  4. Salma Khan

    Awesome Dipti. Very well written. Keep it up and hope to read more of your blogs.

  5. Vidya Aunty

    Beautiful, as usual…you continue your inspired writing… And like Sundar Uncle said… start the process of getting some travel write ups or photos into mags… And dont get disheartened with initial responses, if in the negative ;).

  6. Usha Keshav

    Usha mami mumbai

    Hi Dipti,
    Going thru your blog , I was floored by your intense observation of your surrounding when you travel. You have good flair of writing. The photographs complimented your writing. All best for a great future in doing what you like most. With luv

  7. Sharbari Nag

    Dipti, well-written about a unique subject. you have the ability to think out-of-the-box. Enjoyed your blog.

  8. Thanks so much, I’m truly inspired 🙂

  9. Vijaya Gopalkrishnan

    Hi Dippy, !! Really interesting…you have got it in you . keep writing & clicking, we also feel that we have seen all this with you. muah

  10. Edwin Fernandes

    Hi Dipty,
    Thanks for opening some fascinating new doors for me. Next, try some interiors also!

    Regards,
    Edwin Fernandes

  11. Pingback: Oh Barcelona! | Once the bug bites, it won't stop

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

